Joseph Stiglitz

Nobel Prize Winner for Economics

Joseph Stiglitz is a leading economic educator and is the former Chair of The Commission of Experts of the President of the UN General Assembly on Reforms of the International Monetary and Financial System.

Joseph Stiglitz

Nobel Prize Winner for Economics

Joseph Stiglitz is a leading economic educator and is the former Chair of The Commission of Experts of the President of the UN General Assembly on Reforms of the International Monetary and Financial System.

Areas of Interest
Share Speaker
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email


He is now University Professor at Columbia University in New York, where he is also the co-founder and co-president of the university’s Initiative for Policy Dialogue. He is also the Chief Economist of the Roosevelt Institute. In 2000, Stiglitz founded the Initiative for Policy Dialogue, a think tank on international development based at Columbia University. In 2001, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in economics for his analyses of markets with asymmetric information, and he was a lead author of the 1995 Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. In 2009 Thinkers 50, the global ranking of management gurus, placed him among the list of most influential thinkers. In 2011, Time named Stiglitz one of the 100 most influential people in the world. He is now serving as President of the International Economic Association. Joseph Stiglitz was named one of the 2015 Global Thought Leaders by the WorldPost and Gottlieb Duttweiler Institute.

Stiglitz was a member of the Council of Economic Advisers from 1993-95, during the Clinton administration, and served as CEA chairman from 1995-97. He then became Chief Economist and Senior Vice-President of the World Bank from 1997-2000. He now chairs a High Level Expert Group at the OECD attempting to advance further these ideas .Stiglitz serves on numerous boards, including the Acumen Fund and Resources for the Future. A pioneer in the field of the application of economic theories, he helped create the new branch of economics ‘The Economics of Information’. Stiglitz’s work has been widely recognized. Among his awards are more than 40 honorary doctorates, including from Cambridge and Oxford Universities. He is a fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the Econometric Society, and a corresponding fellow of the Royal Society and the British Academy. He has been decorated by several governments, including Colombia, Ecuador, and Korea, and in 2012 became a member of France’s Legion of Honor (rank of Officier).

Known for his pioneering work on asymmetric information, Stiglitz’s work focuses on income distribution, risk, corporate governance, public policy, macroeconomics and globalization. He is the author of numerous books, and several bestsellers.

(Photo Credit: Gabriela Plump)


  • The Economics of Information
  • Dealing with the Current Financial Crisis
  • The Economics of the Public Sector
  • The Role of the Government in the Economy
  • Market Failures
  • Impact of Low Rate Savings on Long Term
  • Growth Prospects


  • Rewriting the Rules of the European Economy: An Agenda for Growth and Shared Prosperity (2020)
  • Measuring What Counts: The Global Movement for Well-Being, with Jean-Paul Fitoussi and Martine Durand (2019)
  • For Good Measure: An Agenda for Moving Beyond GDP, with Jean-Paul Fitoussi and Martine Durand (2019)
  • People, Power, and Profits: Progressive Capitalism for an Age of Discontent (2019)
  • Selected Works of Joseph E. Stiglitz: Volume III: Rethinking Macroeconomics (2019)
  • lobalization and Its Discontents Revisited: Anti-Globalization in the Era of Trump (2017)
  • The Great Divide (2015)
  • Rewriting the Rules of the American Economy (2015)
  • Creating a Learning Society (2014)
  • The Price of Inequality: How Today’s Divided Society Endangers Our Future (2012)
  • Freefall: America, Free Markets, and the Sinking of the World Economy (2010)
  • Time for a Visible Hand: Lessons from the 2008 World Financial Crisis (2010)
  • The Three Trillion Dollar War: The True Cost of the Iraq Conflict (2008)
  • Making Globalization Work (2006)
  • Fair Trade For All: How Trade Can Promote Development (2005)
  • The Roaring Nineties (2003)
  • Towards a New Paradigm in Monetary Economics (2003)
  • Globalisation and its Discontents (2002)
  • Rethinking the East Asia Miracle (2001)
  • Frontiers of Development Economics: The Future in Perspective (2000)
  • Economics of the Public Sector: Third Edition (2000)
  • Principles of Macroeconomics and the Canadian Economy (1998)


  • George S. Eccles Prize for Excellence in Economic Writing, for Creating a Learning Society, Columbia Business School, 2015
  • Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize, 2014
  • Daniel Patrick Moynihan Prize, 2014
  • Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, for The Price of Inequality, 2013
  • Global Economy Prize, Kiel Institute, Germany, 2013
  • The Karel Englis Honorary Medal for Merit in the Social and Economic Sciences, awarded by the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, 2010
  • Francis Perkins Working People’s Award, 2010 presented by the Fiscal Policy Institute
  • Gerald Loeb Award, Commentary Category, 2010
  • International Labour Organization, Decent Work Research Prize, 2008
  • Nobel Peace Prize, 2007 (shared)
  • Nobel Prize in Economics, 2001
  • John Bates Clark Award, American Economic Association, 1979

Speaker Videos

Get In Touch

Our consultants have the expertise and knowledge needed to find your perfect speaker and turn your vision into reality.